General

Let’s try again – 2000 and whatever

Anyone else feel like they need another Christmas? I don’t go back to work until Thursday and the thought of that is already too much to comprehend right now.

I write this from bed, in my parents house, poorly :(. What are the chances that when I take time off I miraculously end up ill – I would say karmas a bitch but I don’t think I’ve done anything to deserve said karma (unless the constant alcohol and junk food consumption over the past 2 weeks counts… then fair enough) 

I haven’t written anything for a while (soz). I’ve wanted to! I’ve had loads of ideas that I’m going to attempt to get at least all started today and then schedule them (see that 2017 organisational bug has clearly infected me also). I also have a  load of other stuff I want to do – so I’m very grateful for a couple of extra days off.

The first of these I have semi-started this morning. 

Freelancing.

I’ve been trawling through google searches trying to work out how to become a successful freelancer and have actually come across a pretty helpful one which suggests ‘Cold-Pitching’. Intrigued? I was… it basically requires you emailing smaller websites who may or may not be completely social media savvy to offer your services.

Now… social media is my second language, not only with my social life but a large chunk of my uni education was focused on how social media can be used to help businesses… I was even a Social Media and Digital Marketint Intern at one point(!)

Over Christmas family friends tend to ask you what you’ve been up to recently and when I tell them I’m a Copywriter they tend to look at me blankly in the hope I continue to explain, which of course I do, probably too much (I mean come on… it’s me)

After my explanation finishes I see I’m quickly losing my audiences attention. So, I therefore continue with my next go-to spiel that consists of ‘it’s just a foot in the door job’ or ‘they’re a great company to work for and work my way up in’ or, my favourite one, ‘I want to be a writer so having my first grad job title as copywriter is pretty alright’.

And it is. I want nothing more than to say that writing is my profession. At the moment it’s my hobby – something I do because I love it that I eventually dream will turn into my career. 

And surely the start of a new year is the best time to engage the butt gears and get moving!

So…

After writing this (and the other posts I want to schedule) I will be applying for the some prestigious grad schemes, signing myself up for freelance job board ad websites things (I promise I know what I’m doing haha) and trying to get this ball rolling on what I call my future career. 

I know I’m just a graduate, but I was talking to an old friend yesterday and I heard myself saying that I didn’t want to lose sight of what I really want to do – now, I know I’m strong willed enough to ensure I keep myself on track… but if I don’t do enough to actually get myself there… well, no one else is gonna do it for me are they? 

(Also, cringe side note – thank you so much to everyone who follows, likes and comments on my post. I absolutely love and appreciate it all and can’t wait for what 2017 holds for this little blog)

Happy New Year xox

Standard

Leave a Reply

