General

London diaries | too many ideas and new opportunities |

Are we sure it’s actually November?! I’m one of those people who is far too interested in talking about the variations of weather and how outrageous it is that I’m not wearing multiple layers walking to work… I didn’t even have my coat done up. Madness

I also love noticing different petrol prices in different places, much to the amusement of my parents who I haven’t been able to wow with any London petrol knowledge as I a) don’t live near a petrol station and b) don’t have access to a car.

What an interesting start to this post ey?! Haha apologies.

Onto some exciting news :D I don’t tend to use instagram for messaging – I occasionally receive spam and my brothers gf sends me super yummy vegan treats… apart from that it’s not a messaging service I regularly check. But, the other day I had a message from a website called My Trending StoriesΒ asking me if I’d like to contribute articles! Pretty cool right??!!?! Very cool in my opinion.

My lovely Mumma was in London over the weekend and told me how much she loved my article about anxiety. She said she finds my writing style really easy to read and just loves reading them basically… and when I told her about this, apart from being as excited as me she said ‘as nice as it is to hear your mum tell you how great you are it must so amazing to hear it from someone else’. And, as usual, she’s very right!

The message was so humbling and so refreshing and a nice change. Those of you who have followed me from the beginning of this blogging thing know that I have freelanced for a number of magazines (Sant, PETRIe InventoryΒ and Fashion Angel) and websites but they have always been things I have personally sought after, applied for and been accepted for. Never have I actually ever been approached and asked to write an article of my choice because someone loves my work and style.

Just because I’m so proud of myself and feel like boasting a bit (and this is my blog so I can kinda say whatever I like hehe) here’s the message they sent me:

‘Your writing abilities and ability to engage readers is a remarkable and very rare asset in this days and age oversaturated blooding community’

As if someone actually thinks I’m that good?! It’s mad.

Since working for New Look and being settled in my first job, I was worried (in a way) that my dream of becoming a writer was quite far away – that I’d have to stay in jobs that weren’t my absolute passion until I caught my ‘big break‘ (Joey Tribianni). Luckily, my copywriter role is a fantastic foot in the door as I’m not only writing on a daily basis, but I’m making contacts within an amazing fashion brand I know I want to continue working for, if they’ll have me haha, for many years.

So I’m just going to take every opportunity thrown at me with both hands and take full advantage until I somehow ‘make it’, whatever that means.

I have no idea what I’ll end up doing but knowing that my writing is actually being recognised as good and interesting enough for people to want to read and share, definitely gives me a confidence boost and reminds me why I love doing, well… this.

Writing. Whether it’s these London diaries posts or my more slightly serious posts about things going on the world I feel inspired by – I love it all and I, unless all my fingers and toes fall off, will not stop doing so.

Watch this space ;)

Peace and love xxx

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “London diaries | too many ideas and new opportunities |

Leave a Reply

